Literary Friday: City of Glass

Synopsis according to Goodreads:
"To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters - never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City - whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the final installment of the New York Timesbestselling trilogy The Mortal Instruments.
"



This is the third in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Like the two before it, it was fast-paced, high-stakes and beautifully written. Clare departed in her presenting of the villain, though, by show us the readers some connections that she withheld from the characters. You know those moments where you're yelling at the book (or TV screen) "C'mon, idiot! It's THAT GUY!" but of course their blissfully ignorant? Yep, it was like that.


That's not to say I didn't love it...I did, it just contained fewer "Wha...?!" surprises and more eyebrow quirking, for me. The book wrapped up beautifully, closing some over-arcing conflicts and answering some questions, but being open-ended enough for my imagination. 


Which is odd, because there's a fourth and fifth book out...and I love the characters but don't feel there's any conflict to take me into Book Four. I'm going to read it, of course, but I'm a wee bit skeptical.


So what can I tell you about City of Glass? Not much, without ruining plot points that thread through City of Bones and City of Ashes. Are your favorite folks in it, being totally themselves? Yes. And there are a few news folks. Does it have an epic scene with Isabelle where I literally cheered out loud while reading? Yes. Does it contain some shocking and heartbreaking scenes as well? Of course.


I recommend this book for fans of City of Bones and City of Ashes, of course. You'll love this series if you're into plot-and-character-strong works, female protagonists, heroes that work as a team instead of as lone wolves, grown-up/older level YA fiction, fantasy, romantic tension, believable baddies, and quirky wit. 

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,