Book Review: A Redbird Christmas

Synopsis according to GoodReads:
"From the beloved author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe comes her latest New York Times bestseller--a new Yuletide classic about small-town America and larger-than-life wonders."


A Redbird Christmas is typical Fannie Flagg- a heartwarming, tear-jerking story about small-town America, set in a Norman Rockwell concept of humanity.


That sounds trite, but I actually enjoy her stories. They're easy to read, and always end on a note of hope. In this case, I think they also carry a little extra charm for artistic and painterly types, birders, and fans of the South (especially Alabama).


The setting is quaint and the people made me smile, and Fannie Flagg can definitely turn a phrase. A few had me chuckling, and it was a great novel for Christmastime, given the hope and love in it (without any heavy-handed Christian overtones or saccharine  "magic of Christmas" messages).


I recommend this for fans of Garrison Keillor, Prairie Home Companion, Fannie Flagg, old-town Alabama, quick-read heartwarming stories, and nostalgic Americana.




Psssst! Don't forget to vote for Printcess' next genre release, for the chance to win 3 eyeshadows of your choice!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Labels: , , , ,